Mary Fallin

Gov. Fallin Signs Executive Order Amending State of Emergency

June 3, 2013

Governor Mary Fallin today amended an executive order declaring a State of Emergency to include 25 additional counties impacted by the latest round of severe weather that began May 29. Click here to view a copy of the Executive Order.

The counties now included in the declaration are: Adair, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Hughes, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington.

Since last week, these Oklahoma counties have experienced tornadoes, straight-line winds, flooding and damaging hail. Damage assessments continue in the hardest hit areas, where severe storms have resulted in numerous fatalities and injuries as well as extensive damage to homes and businesses.

Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance for counties impacted by severe weather since May 29.

The executive order can be further amended to add additional counties if conditions warrant. The declaration was first signed on May 19, 2013.

Click here to view a copy of the Executive Order.

<- Go Back